



Whether there will be 33 percent reservation for women?

There were 454 votes in favor of the bill in the Lok Sabha and 2 votes against. There was no opposition
to the bill in the Rajya Sabha. 214 votes were cast in favour. No one voted against

1987

- Former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi introduced the Constitutional Amendment Bill in 1987 to provide one-third reservation for women in rural and urban local bodies based on the recommendations of a 14-member committee headed by then minister Margaret Alva.
- The Bill was passed in the Lok Sabha but was not passed when the Bill was tabled in the Rajya Sabha in September 1989.

1992

- In 1992 Prime Minister P V Narasimha Rao's government passed the 73rd and 74th Constitutional Amendment Acts. This section mandated 33.3% reservation for women in local bodies
- Today there are 15 lakh women local body leaders in the country because of former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi

Issues

- Census should be conducted after 2026
- Constituency redelineation work should be done after the completion of census
- The number of MP constituencies in each state will be adjusted after the re-delimitation of constituencies. It is on that basis that the Women's Reservation Bill will be passed

Accomplished women leaders of our country

- Indira Gandhi was the first and only woman Prime Minister of India
- Pratibha Patil and Droupadi Murmu have graced the post of President
- There are 16 women Chief Ministers in India
- But 17 states including Kerala, Karnataka, Andhra, Telangana and Puducherry have yet to have a single woman Chief Minister.
- Delhi, Uttar Pradesh and Tamil Nadu alone have two women as Chief Ministers
- Sheila Dikshit in Delhi, Jayalalithaa in Tamil Nadu and Mamata in West Bengal are the longest serving Chief Ministers.
- Five people from Congress and four from BJP have held office as women chief ministers

Tamilnadu empowered women

- In Tamil Nadu, the Justice Party passed a resolution on May 10, 1921 to give women the right to vote for the first time in India.
- In 1927, Dr. Muthulakshmi Reddy from Tamil Nadu was elected as the first woman MLA in India.
- In 1929, Periyar passed a resolution at the Self-Respect Conference held at Chengalpattu calling for reservation for women in education, employment and politics.
- For the first time in the country, 50% reservation for women in local bodies was implemented in Tamil Nadu

SURESH' IAS Academy

Many states like Tamil Nadu, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand and Kerala have enacted legislation to ensure 50% reservation for women in local bodies.

There are only 16 female Chief Ministers in the country so far

- Since independence, only 16 women have held the post of chief minister in the states of our country. Their list is as follows:
- On October 2, 1963, a woman freedom fighter Kripalani became the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh for the first time in India. He belonged to the Congress party and was the Chief Minister for three years and 162 days
- Nandini Satpathy was the Congress Chief Minister of Odisha from 14 June 1972 to 16 December 1976.
- Shashikala Kakodkar of the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party was the Chief Minister of Goa from 12 August 1973 to 27 April 1976.
- Anwara Taimur of the Congress Party was the Chief Minister of Assam from 6th December 1980 to 30th June 1981.
- For the first time in Tamil Nadu, MGR's wife Janaki was Chief Minister for 23 days from 7th to 30th January 1988.
- Following Janaki, Jayalalitha served from 24 June 1991 to 12 May 1996, 14 May 2001 to 21 September 2001, 2 March 2002 to 12 May 2006, 16 May 2011 to 27 September 2014 and 23 May 2015 to 5 December 2016. She was the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu for 14 years and 124 days
- Bahujan Samaj Party chief Mayawati was the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh from June 13, 1995 to October 18, 1995, from March 21, 1997 to September 21, 1997, from May 2, 2002 to August 29, 2003, and from May 13, 2007 to March 15, 2012 for a total of 7 years and 5 days.
- Rajinder Kaur Bhattal of the Congress Party was the Chief Minister of Punjab for 83 days from November 21, 1996 to February 12, 1997.
- Lalu Prasad Yadav's wife Rabri Devi was the Chief Minister of Bihar from July 25, 1997 to February 11, 1999, March 9, 1999 to March 2, 2000 and March 11, 2000 to March 6, 2005 for a total of 7 years and 190 days.
- Sushma Swaraj was the Chief Minister of Delhi for a total of 52 days from October 12, 1998 to December 3, 1998 on behalf of the BJP.
- Sheila Dikshit was the Chief Minister of Delhi from December 3, 1996 to December 28, 2013 on behalf of the Congress Party for a total of 15 years and 25 days.
- Uma Bharti was the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh for 259 days from December 8, 2003 to August 23, 2004 on behalf of the BJP.
- In Rajasthan, BJP's Vasundhara Raje was the Chief Minister from December 8, 2003 to December 13, 2008 and from December 13, 2013 to December 17, 2018 for a total of 10 years and 9 days.
- Trinamool Congress leader Mamata Banerjee has been the chief minister of West Bengal for 12 consecutive years since 20 May 2011.
- BJP's Anandiben Patel was the Chief Minister of Gujarat for 2 years 77 days from 22 May 2014 to 7 August 2016.
- Mehbooba Mufti was the Chief Minister of Kashmir from April 4, 2016 to June 19, 2018 for 2 years and 76 days.

Top five countries with maximum reservation for women

- Rwanda 61%
- Cuba 53%
- Nicaragua 52%
- Mexico 50%
- New Zealand 50%

SURESH' IAS Academy

Economically strong countries

- France 37%
- England 35%
- Germany 35%
- Italy 32%
- America 29%
- China 25%
- Brazil 18%
- Russia 16%
- Japan 10%

Percentage of women MPs in the Indian subcontinent

- Nepal 33%
- Bangladesh 21%
- Pakistan 20%
- India 15%
- Sri Lanka 5%

Women MPs in Lok Sabha

- 1951 5%
- 1957 5%
- 1962 6%
- 1967 6%
- 1971 5%
- 1977 4%
- 1980 5%
- 1984 8%
- 1989 6%
- 1991 7%
- 1996 7%
- 1998 8%
- 1999 9%
- 2004 8%
- 2009 11%
- 2014 12%
- 2019 15%

State wise women MLAs

- Andhra 8%
- Assam -4.76%
- Chhattisgarh 14.44%
- Gujarat 7.14%
- Himachal Pradesh 5.88%
- Karnataka 3.14%
- Madhya Pradesh 9.13%

- Manipur 8.33%
- Mizoram 0
- Odisha 8.9%
- Rajasthan 12%
- Tamil Nadu 5.13%
- Tripura 5%
- Uttar Pradesh 11.66%
- Delhi 11.43%
- Arunachal Pradesh 5%
- Bihar 10.7%
- Goa 7.50%
- Haryana 10%
- Jharkhand 12.35%
- Kerala 7.86%
- Maharashtra 8.33%
- Meghalaya 5.08%
- Nagaland 0
- Punjab 11.11%
- Sikkim 9.38%
- Telangana 5.04%
- Uttarkhand 11.43%
- West Bengal 13.7%
- Puducherry 3.33%

Women who participated in the Lok Sabha elections

Year	Total	Women	%	Won	%
1999	4648	284	6.0	49	9.0
2004	5435	355	6.5	45	8.3
2009	8070	556	6.9	59	10.9
2014	8251	668	8.0	62	11.4
2019	8054	726	9.0	78	14.4

Women MPs in Rajya Sabha

Year	Strength	%
2012	24	9.8
2014	31	12.8
2016	27	11
2018	28	11.4
2020	29	12.24